Outlander Tag

10964

Today I’ll be doing the Outlander Tag based on Diana Gabaldon’s time traveling/historical fiction/romance series. Thank you Zoey from Magiverse for tagging me! It has only one rule to follow: Do not use Outlander as an answer. I only read the first book and, though I wasn’t a fan, I do love time travel and the questions are fun, so let’s check them out!

You touch some standing stones, and you get transported back in time. What year would you end up in? 1888, Arles. I would like to see Vincent van Gogh from afar doing some of my favorite paintings from him, although I don’t think I would actually like to meet him. If he were rude to me, I would be terribly disappointed!

Claire is a good nurse, but what type of skill would you want a fictional character to excel at? An expert in languages, both fictional and real. She could be a mediator between nations or simply have adventures in many different lands. That’s honestly a skill I want for myself so seeing it in a character would be cool. Artemis Fowl, from the series by the same name by Eoin Colfer, knew many languages, but I didn’t love his character and never read past the first book so I’m not really counting him on this.

15994711Jamie and Claire are the ultimate relationship goals. Who is your favourite fictional couple? I really don’t think Jamie and Claire are ‘ultimate relationship goals’, as that was my main problem with the book, but let’s ignore that! I would say Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, because I love Pride and Prejudice and they were amazing.

The ending of Outlander was shocking. What is one book that you read that totally blew your mind? The ending of 1984 by George Orwell blew my mind when I read it in college. The last four words still haunt me.

Scotland has lots of castles and we see a few in Outlander. What fictional kingdom would you want to live in? I don’t think I’ve ever read a book set in a proper kingdom, or if I have, I can’t seem to remember it. I think I’ll have to skip this one. I need some  recommendations!

Outlander has some very steamy scenes. What is your favourite romance novel? Once again, Pride and Prejudice would be my favorite (though it doesn’t have any steamy scenes). It’s a great story with amazing characters and I won’t ever stop raving about it, okay? I love it, as well as the mini-series and the 2005 film. I haven’t seen any of the other adaptations, but that has to change.

The Jacobite rebellion is a huge plot point in Outlander. What is 136251one of your favourite battles from a book? The Battle of Hogwarts was pretty epic, so I have to go with that one from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Jamie and Clarie get married very unexpectedly. What fictional characters would you like to marry on a whim? I’m not sure if this question means that I would marry the character or if two characters would get married, so I’m going with the latter. My choice, off the top of my head, is Ronan and Adam from The Raven Cycle because I could see it work out that way for them. Can you imagine Ronan suddenly dreaming a ring? I totally can.

Scotland is a very beautiful place. What fictional world would you love to visit? That’s very similar to yesterday’s post! I would like to see the Mulefa world that appears in the His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman because the creatures sound fascinating.

If you could change the past, would you? Zoey, who tagged me, and I discussed this over her post. I told her she had very respectable time traveling morals because she wouldn’t dare change a thing and I wouldn’t be able to stop myself. I really wouldn’t like to change many things because we all know messing with time can go terribly wrong,  but I don’t think I would be able to help myself from interfering if I know someone is going to be killed or hurt.


Consider yourself tagged if you are interested in answering these questions and let me know so I can check your answers!

Would you change the past? What book would you recommend to me that has a kingdom in it?

11 thoughts on “Outlander Tag

    1. I have yet to read Six of Crows, but I’ve heard wonderful things, thank you 🙂 I have read Game of Thrones, the first one at least, and I wouldn’t like to live there at all, I’ll be killed in a second haha

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh yay, you did this tag!
    It was so fun reading your answers 😀
    I have to admit, I actualy loved the Artemis Fowel series. I loved the genius aspect of it – it kind of reminded me of a younger sherlock holmes.
    About Outlander… I did not read the books, but I can tell you I’m pretty sure the TV show doesn’t have the things you hated in outlander, from what you described (will elaborate more when I finally reply back).
    lol, I’m flattered by the mention of my very respectable time travel morals (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear the rest of the Artemis Fowl series is quite good actually, but I just had the first one and never saw the rest at the book stores 😦
      I’m glad the show changed that, it must be very good then, the historical fiction side was really interesting and I love time traveling so much.
      And of course, your morals are the standards we should all aim for haha

      Like

    1. Oh, well I hope you could still enjoy the tag! The story is mainly historical fiction and romance, time travel is what makes it happen but it never gets explained (at least in the first novel).

      Like

  2. I don’t think I could ever bring myself to changing the past. Maybe stopping Anne Boleyn from being summarily executed, but lol, that might bring about many more changes in Tudor England, so yeah. Love the tag, BTW! I loved Outlander so I might just have to do this one.

    As for kingdoms…boy there are tons. The Seven Kingdoms in the Graceling books was fun to read about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, do! I want to see everyone else’s answers 🙂 There are many injustices one would like to change, so that could be dangerous 😛
      Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll have to check that Graceling series at one point.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

