Favorite BookTubers

Every time I feel like I need a little reading inspiration, I’m sure to check some YouTube videos of lovely people talking about books. Nothing makes me want to read more than people showing their TBR piles, seeing their book hauls, or listening to their thoughts on their latest reads. Here I have a few BookTubers with genres and opinions similar to mine that I want to share with you. Check them out:

separadorJEN CAMPBELL

separador2

photo

YouTube icon  Twitter icon  Instagram  Goodreads icon

Jen is the first booktuber I ever actually subscribed to. She’s an author, reader, book seller, and even runs writing workshops and a fairly new podcast (visit her website for more info on that). She’s really smart, as well as kind, and her content truly shows her different facets with insightful reviews, poems, author interviews, an inside look into the publishing world, hauls, and great recommendations and discussions. She’s particularly fond of fairy tales (her new series on that has just started), but reads many different genres. Watching her videos pushed me to reach towards poetry, which was unthinkable for me before because I was too afraid of it, but it was exciting finding out that I enjoy it! No only does she read fiction and poetry, but also non-fiction, short stories, flash fiction, novellas, and plays, so you can expect to explore a variety of forms with her.

separadorCHAPTERSTACKSS

separador2

photo1

YouTube icon  Twitter icon  Instagram  Goodreads icon

Katie is a grad student of Industrial and Organizational Psychology and in the reading department she focuses mainly on horror and psychological thrillers, although it’s not necessarily all she reads. She’s honest, critical and her reviews are concise and compelling, as well as her discussion-type videos. In her channel she also shares horror film reviews, her favorites of the month, and travel vlogs and tips, which are great additions to her channel.

separadorHOLLY DUNN DESIGN

separador2

photo2

YouTube icon  Twitter icon  Instagram  Goodreads icon

Holly is a New Zealander living in London who loves art, graphic design, dressmaking, magical realism, and books set in universities. She’s extremely sweet and a talented and passionate book designer, a topic she talks about in her channel with very informative and cool videos on things like the different styles of book edges, end papers, and cover finishes. Her illustrations are beautiful, some of which she shares in some videos, as well as in her website.

katherinemansfieldgardenpartybookcoverhollydunn
Holly’s cover for The Garden Party by Katherine Mansfield. You can pre-order this edition from HarperCollins.

separadorTHE BOY WHO CRIED BOOKS

separador2

photo4

YouTube icon Twitter icon Instagram  Tumblr  Goodreads icon

Joseph runs both a YouTube channel and a blog on Tumblr. His videos usually make me laugh and he is very sweet, so if you’re looking for someone who can bring a smile to your face, here you go! Last year, he dedicated his reading entirely to LGBTQIA+ books, a pretty cool challenge that resulted in a total of 46 books read through 2015. Though this year he is not exactly repeating the challenge, he continues to pick many LGBTQIA+ books. He usually reads fiction, comics, and graphic novels.

separadorWOOLFSWHISTLE

separador2

photo3

YouTube icon  Twitter icon  Instagram  Goodreads icon

Above all, Nicole is outspoken, honest and witty, which shows in how analytical her videos are. She is fond of LGBTQIA+ literature and fantasy and reads mainly fiction and graphic novels. She loves writing and recently started posting videos giving tips for writers and updates on what she’s working on, which is great content for anyone who wants to peek into the process and work that goes behind crafting a book.

separadorARIEL BISSETT

separador2

photo5

YouTube icon  Twitter icon  Instagram  Goodreads icon  Tumblr

Ariel is energetic, passionate and really funny. My favorite videos of hers are her discussions. She’s certainly made me think twice about my reading habits! Check her ‘Annotating Your Books‘ video to see what I mean. She also writes and has recently shared some of her poems in her videos. Some of her favorite genres include general fiction, classics, fantasy, historical fiction, and young adult.

separadorINKBONESBOOKS

separador2

photo6

YouTube icon  Twitter icon  Instagram  Goodreads icon

Sanaa enjoys reading young adult, fantasy, paranormal, science fiction, graphic novels, and classics. Her channel is not exclusively about books, although it is the biggest part of it. She also posts great gaming and beauty related videos. I especially enjoy her lively disposition and how articulate she is when giving her opinions.

separadorTHE POPTIMIST

separador2

photo7

YouTube icon  Twitter icon  Instagram  Goodreads icon  Tumblr

Although I’m fairly new to David’s channel, I can already say that he is totally worth recommending. I actually came to know him thanks to Katie from ChapterStackss. David is extremely articulated and really funny, with a dry sarcastic humor that goes great with the funny images and gifs he adds to accompany his commentary. He reads literary fiction, comics and manga, and does tags, reviews, wrap-ups, and recommendations.

Do you follow them? Who are some of your favorite BookTubers and what are their channels like?

27 thoughts on “Favorite BookTubers

  1. Out of all the booktubers you mentioned, I only know one – Ariel Bissett. I love the booktube community – there are passionate, wonderful people that can really make my day just by uploading a new video.
    Last month I also made a favourite booktubers post (http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/2016/05/booktubers-i-follow.html).
    I’m always glad to find out new booktubers – I’ll be sure to check the ones you mentioned 😀
    And, of course: great post (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, this is such a well informed and put together post! Probably one of the best BookTube posts that I’ve seen! I’m subbed to Katie, Sanaa and Ariel. I’m definitely going to check all the others out. Thanks for the recs and fantastic post, Esther 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked it, thank you!! The others might not be as big on YouTube but I connected with them and I think their content is very much worthwhile, I hope you think so too ☺

      Like

  3. I also subscribed to The Poptimist because of Katie’s recommendation. I love his videos. He’s really well spoken. Some others that I follow are Amanda from HeyHeyBooks, she has a quiet voice and similar reading tastes, I also love Olive from abookolive. She’s also very well spoken and has a pretty varied reading taste, I recommend her to you if you don’t know her already.

    Like

    1. He is fantastic. I just checked Amanda and she has Gilmore Girl bookish videos so that sold me on her immediately! And I also saw a video from Olive talking about Harry Potter and loved how well she analyzed it, so yes, I’ve found two new BookTubers to subscribe to. Thank you 😀

      Like

  4. Thanks for the list, I can’t wait to watch some of their vids! I consider starting a booktube channel occasionally; I think that when my blog grows more I’ll start one :)) Would you ever vlog?

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

