ARC Review: Fallen to Grace by A.J. Flowers


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this ARC from the author for an honest review.

Title: Fallen to Grace (Celestial Downfall #1)
Author: A.J. Flowers
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal
Release date: December 2nd, 2016

| Add to Goodreads |


Azrael’s a wingless angel, and if that wasn’t bad enough, she’s the only one with a functioning conscience. Her bi-color eyes mark her as a moral hybrid, and when she breaks her enslavement to Manor Saffron by making a deal with a demon, she doesn’t expect to become Queen. She’ll have to survive her new royal magic, convince a legion of angels she’s worth fighting for, and find the breach in her Faustian deal, or risk a new master with horns.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Fallen to Grace by A.J. Flowers”

Genre Exploration: Romance and its subgenres

Today is the second installment of my Genre Exploration series, where I discuss genres I don’t normally pick up, define them, talk about their classics and new releases, recommend books and authors, and much more.

This time I’ll be talking about Romance, which is probably the genre I avoid the most. It’s not that I hate it, but I’m usually disappointed at how the relationships are portrayed or I’m not really in the mood for it. I want to read more of it because I think that I’m missing some nice stories, so I’ll start really small by defining it and talking about some of its sub-genres. Let’s go!

Continue reading “Genre Exploration: Romance and its subgenres”

Review: The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater


Titles: The Raven Boys (⋆⋆⋆⋆) | The Dream Thieves (⋆⋆⋆⋆) | Blue Lily, Lily Blue (⋆⋆⋆⋆) | The Raven King (⋆⋆⋆)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal
Release dates: September 18th, 2012 | September 17th, 2013 | October 21st, 2014 | April 26th, 2016

Description (Book #1):

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her. His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble. But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little. For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

The Raven Cycle is a slow burn adventure dripping with mystery, filled with magic, psychics, a lost king, and a cast of unique and complex characters that make you want to keep turning the pages. The world of mysteries set in present time Virginia is certainly intriguing, and though the plot holes throughout the novels take away some of its magic, the characters are intricate and enchanting enough to make this series work. 

Continue reading “Review: The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater”