ARC Review: Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Bitter Sweet Love
Author: Michael Faudet
Genre: Poetry
Release date: October 25th, 2016

| Add to Goodreads |


Description:

Michael Faudet’s whimsical and often erotic writing has captured the hearts and minds of literally thousands of readers from around the world. He paints vivid pictures with intricate words and explores the compelling themes of love, loss, relationships, and sex. All beautifully captured in poetry, prose, quotes, and little short stories.


Bitter Sweet Love is comprised of poems and very short stories often interconnected and that deal with love, hearbreak, and sex. Though I do have some favorite poems, the overall collection ended up falling flat for me. I do not blame the writing, because it was mostly my style, but I couldn’t find anything touching in it. That’s clearly something very personal and it might be completely different for another reader.

While the stories weren’t to my liking, they did end with powerful sentences or verses that I quite enjoyed. Because of that, I can’t quite figure out how the short stories fit in the collection and I definitely preferred the poems. I found the recurring imagery interesting, but not very meaningful to me, like the constant mention of vodka, the lavender scent, or the red hair of most of the women he talks about. They made me feel like I was peeking into his own losses and relationships, so I couldn’t really relate that much.

Although my favorite parts were the more lyrical verses or sentences, I would say this collection is for someone interested in straightforward writing on hearbreak and love, with a bluntness particularly evident in the erotic passages.

Favorite Poems:  Her Kisses, Our Autumn Came, Her Eyes, My Heart, We Spoke, Respect Yourself, The Final Act, My Life Before You.

One thought on “ARC Review: Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet

Let's talk!

