September Wrap-Up

September was a crazy month. It had good things and bad things, but let’s not get into them. I fell into a bit of a reading and blogging slump and wasn’t able to sit down and write all the reviews I planned to. But, on the other hand, I reached 300 followers, which I’m really thankful for! 🙂 Let’s see how I really read and blogged this month:

separadorBOOKS READ THIS MONTH

separador2

22523971  20821614  6051029431081  30220406  22571826

I actually got a lot of reading done during this month, I hadn’t realized that until now! Of course, there’s a picture book and two poetry collections, but there’s also three full length novels and The Key is 864 pages long! So I’m kind of proud, given how insane this month was.

  • Nejma by Nayyirah Waheed is a poetry collection with some beautiful and powerful poems, but that I felt lacked cohesiveness.
  • You by Caroline Kepnes was the perfect psychological thriller. It blurs the line between hating and liking a character that is an obessive and dangerous stalker.
  • Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder is fast-paced and entertaining fantasy book about a Yelena, former-death row criminal who becomes the Commander’s food taster. It has great characters and imaginative world-building.
  • The Universe of Us by Lang Leav became one of my favorite poetry collections. With a motif of stars and constellations and themes such as love, loss, hope and hurt, it’s a relatable and moving read.
  • Malala: Activist for Girl’s Education by  Raphaële Frier & Aurélia Fronty (illustrator) is an informative picture book with vivid illustrations that summarizes Malala’s life achievements. Perfect to introduce or remind kids and adults alike the power of education and equality.
  • The Key was the perfect ending to a pretty cool trilogy. The characters and relationships grew a lot more, the world and magic was fully explored and everything was explained. Also, it had a very positive LGBTQIA+ representation.

separadorCURRENTLY READING

separador2

29845906

I received Nevernight by Jay Kristoff from Zoey @Magiverse, the nicest girl in the world! I can’t thank her enough for sending it to me. I’m only 38 pages in because of the slump, but so far I can say it’s pretty unique and dark. I’m really liking it!

separadorREVIEWS OF THIS MONTH

separador2

separadorDISCUSSIONS

separador2

separadorWEEKLY MEMES

separador2

Top Ten Tuesdays

Book Traveling Thursdays

Diversity Spotlight Thursdays

I love this feature by Aimal @Bookshelves and Paperbacks. We get to share three books each week: one that we’ve read, one that we want to read, and an upcoming release.

  • Spotlight #3 | A 50s book with a positive portrayal of a lesbian couple, a novel about a dancer from India who suffers an accident that leaves her a below knee-amputee, and a fantasy book with two princesses falling in love.
  • Spotlight #4 | A book with Latinx characters with different experiences of depression, a fun graphic novel set in Ivory Coast, and a modern Beauty and the Beast retelling with a transgender main character.

separadorTAGS

separador2

separadorOTHERS

separador2

  • Genre Exploration: Magical Realism | In honor of Latinx Heritage Month I decided to write a post on one of my favorite genres. I explain the difference between magical realism and fantasy and recommend some magical realism novels from Latin America.

Not too shabby for me, I thought I had done worse! How was your September? Are you excited for Halloween reads? I know I am!

12 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up

  1. Ahh, I’m so happy to hear you loved Poison Study! 😀
    It was awesome, wasn’t it?

    “Zoey @Magiverse, the nicest girl in the world!”
    Are you sure you know enough people to make such statements?
    I’m so flattered :*)

    Great wrap-up as always!
    Your wrap-ups are always so… clean and easy to read.
    I love it (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It WAS awesome! I was so engaged in the story, the world and the characters that it flew by. I want to pick the second one so bad right now.
      Hahaha, trust me, you’re one of the nicest people around and it deserves to be recognized 😀
      Thank you Zoey! I’m appreciate you saying that a lot ❤ I'm glad you enjoy them.

      Like

  2. I totally agree with you. Zoey is so nice and she’s a great blogger too! 😛
    I hope you still enjoy reading Nevernight! 🙂
    And I know how you feel when you say you can’t keep up with all the reviews. That sometimes happens to me, but I told myself /again) that blogging is hoby and it shouldn’t be stressful. If I didn’t write a certain review the world is still gonna keep turning.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great reading month! I’ll be reading You as part of the Halloween Readthon hosted by Lauren at Wonderless Reviews and I’m both looking forward to it and a little scared and intimidated by it 🙂 Also, Poison Study has been on my TBR for a while now too, glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

