Book Traveling Thursdays: For book lovers

Every week, Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) and Cátia (from TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch) host a feature called Book Traveling Thursdays on Goodreads. They give you a topic each Thursday and you choose a book that you think fits. Then comes the fun part: a cover showdown! You post the original cover, the cover from your country (which I won’t be doing because the books aren’t published here), and then your favorite and least favorite cover from any edition around the world.

This week’s topic is a book every book lover should read. I had thought of The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, but I had already done that one for the week of “a book I would want to see as a movie or TV show“. So, I went ahead and picked one that I haven’t actually read: Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell. I went with this one because I think everyone who loves books also loves bookshops and hearing about these stories must be hilarious! Let’s check out the covers.

separadorORIGINAL COVER

separador2

12640991

This is the original UK version. The illustration is not my favorite. I’m not a big fan of the style nor of the font used for the title. Everything seems crammed somehow. But I’ve seen the printed version in Jen Campbell’s Youtube videos and it looks a lot better! I think it also represents pretty well that it is a funny, goofy sort of book.

separadorFAVORITE COVERS

separador2

 12640991   26206260

The original UK cover is definitely my favorite for this. I added the Chinese one because I don’t completely hate the idea, but I would make SO many changes to it. The colors, for starters, is something I would change.

separadorLEAST FAVORITE COVERS

separador2

22194776    16047438   30752125

From left to right: Russian, Swedish, and French. These are all so strange. The Russian’s illustration is so childish. It’s something I could have drawn as a kid. I’m specially baffled by the monkey in the Swedish one. Why a monkey? It definitely looks… humorous, but I wouldn’t get what the book is about if I don’t see the title. Finally, I hate the layout of the French one: the red rectangle, the white background, the tiny illustration and the boring font of the title… it’s all bad for me.

What do you think? Have you read or heard about this book?

29 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: For book lovers

      1. I love humor. But it’s also hard to make me laugh, too ^^
        Though I love my humor mixed with fantasy\sci-fi\action and not a book just *full of humor*, if you know what I
        mean (:

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to be present when they make the decisions for these. Like honestly, how do you pitch one of these covers? “So, hear me out, what do you think when I say ‘bookstore’? Monkeys! Of course!!”.

      Like

  1. I love this meme because it showcases all the interesting, and pretty covers from around the world. I’m always so surprised how different covers look, and especially how they relate to their culture. That Swedish cover though.. Haha

    This book sounds soo interesting! I really want to pick it up and read someday. I enjoy reading about the weird things customer sometimes say, and weird people stories are always my favorite 🙂

    I’m so excited to see all your future posts,
    Grace from kimmiegg.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s really fun. I love that about it too 😀 I hope you do pick it up one day and have a laugh with it. Some of the stories I’ve read are truly weird and funny.
      Aw, thank you! I hope you enjoy the blog 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

