Book Traveling Thursdays: A musical book

Every week, Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) and Cátia (from TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch) host a feature called Book Traveling Thursdays on Goodreads. They give you a topic each Thursday and you choose a book that you think fits. Then comes the fun part: a cover showdown! You post the original cover, the cover from your country (which I won’t be doing because the books aren’t published here), and then your favorite and least favorite cover from any edition around the world.

This week’s topic is a musical book, that is, one in which music plays a big part. I chose The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux because not only is the setting in an Opera house and it features music, but it inspired one of the most popular musicals of all time. Let’s check out the covers!

separadorORIGINAL COVER

separador2

250px-gaston_leroux_-_le_fantc3b4me_de_lopc3a9ra

This is a 1920 edition from France when The Phantom finally came out in book form. Before that, between 1909 and 1910, it had been published as a serial in a French newspaper. This cover is creepy, although not in the mysterious way I would have liked. Still, it was published in 1920 so I understand cover designs were different and I appreciate the old-timey feel it has now!

separadorFAVORITE COVERS

separador2

7118891   553377   17447812

These are three US editions. I think they all capture the mystery of the novel, the theatrical feeling and the ominous figure of the Phantom pretty well. The first cover might be a little too modern in its design, but I enjoy all the elements it added. My favorite would probably be the one in the middle, the blue one, because it shows the relationship between the Phantom and Christine and it shows it’s a classic. As for the last one, I find it mesmerizing and I think it’s cool as part of a collection.

separadorLEAST FAVORITE COVERS

separador2

6114159   25237814

On the left we have the Portuguese version, which has a childish illustration that doesn’t represent the tone of the novel AT ALL. The colors are hideous, but the worst thing is that she has purple hair! Then there’s the Italian edition. Christine, Raoul and the Phantom are the main characters and they chose one of the Opera house managers? I don’t understand the choice at all, it looks like a book of tips for your business.

I haven’t read many novels with musical themes, which one would you recommend?

15 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A musical book

  1. Maybe Someday! Oh, please-please-please read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover! This book has the most fascinating combunation between writing and music. It’s just… oh so amazing.
    I know, I don’t make much sense right now. All I’ll say is this: this book is also available to read on kindle, so… read
    it!
    And then talk with me all about it, okay? Deal? (:

    So anyway… I think Maybe Someday is the only book I read with a music-theme in it. Which is strange considering how much I love books *and* music ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right?! They are awful. And that’s okay! I didn’t know until one day I stumbled upon the novel on the book store and HAD to buy it to see where it all began! And last night I discovered there’s a silent film from 1925 based on it too, I had no idea 😮

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That cartoonish one with the purple hair is THE WORST. As far as music novels, I’d recommend A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan or How the Mistakes Were Made (can’t remember the author at this moment). Both are good–and coincidentally were part of My BTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, he was a business man after all, living off the Opera house managers and all hahah
      It’s one of mine too and I really enjoyed the book as well. The Phantom was definitely more evil there.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked that one! It’s really pretty. The Italian one is terrible, it chooses a character that has no real importance to represent the story and it’s so cartoony. It makes no sense 😦

      Like

Let's talk!

