Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite debut novel

Every week, Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) and Cátia (from TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch) host a feature called Book Traveling Thursdays on Goodreads. They give you a topic each Thursday and you choose a book that you think fits. Then comes the fun part: a cover showdown! You post the original cover, the cover from your country (which I won’t be doing because the books aren’t published here), and then your favorite and least favorite cover from any edition around the world.

This week’s topic is your favorite debut novel. I chose The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood because it was a very clever first novel that definitely defines Atwood’s style. So let’s check the covers out:

separadorORIGINAL COVER

separador2

1030530

This is the first edition from Canada. Although it’s not exactly a pretty cover, I think it goes quite well with the book and the themes. Although I do admit it is a little unsettling!

separadorFAVORITE COVERS

separador2

985756   17972446

All new UK editions for Margaret Atwood’s books follow a similar design like tha on the left and I love them! The simplicity, the mix between outlines and pictures, the fonts – I think they are perfect. In this one, the apathetic bride represents perfectly the sentiment of the protagonist. On the right we have the Romanian edition. Between all the fruit you can spot a woman, which I hadn’t really noticed at first glance. It’s very clever and a different, yet spot-on, take on it.

separadorLEAST FAVORITE COVERS

separador2

   7413468   29357644   171547742

On the left we’ve got the Italian edition, on the center the Czech one, and on the right the one from Russia. The Italian one is creepy, disturbing, and makes no sense. What a weird illustration! The guy on the right is really scary, he looks like a clown-a killer clown. The Czech one is a compilation of weird choices. I mean, the superimposing of the clock and gears and the picture of a naked lady in her kitchen says to me ‘crime’ more than anything else, which is not the case. And finally there’s Russia. It’s so sad that we meet again on a Book Traveling Thursday, Russia, why? I don’t mind the idea behind the cover because it really represents the novel, but the execution is so bad. That doll couldn’t be creepier. Imagine the Italian and Russian cover coming together and you have a nightmare right there.

What’s your favorite debut novel? Do you agree with my cover choices?

15 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite debut novel

  1. Hmm… Hmm… Hmm…
    You know, I haven’t really read that many debut novels.
    The only one that comes to mind is Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.
    This was one hell of a unique debut novel. Still is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never notice if they are debut novels or not. This one was the only one I’ve ever read that I consciously picked it up for being the debut. It was for last year’s reading challenge. I haven’t read Shatter Me, but I know the cover is beautiful 😛

      Like

  2. Really like your choices. Never heard of this book though haha!

    I actually really like the orignial cover, it just screams Edvard Munch don’t you think? haha
    I also like the fact of trying to spot the women was added to this post, I found her though 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right! It’s very similar, I hadn’t thought of it! I’m glad you found her, the cover wouldn’t be so cool if it didn’t have her hidden among the fruit 😛

      Like

  3. I haven’t read this one! I only recently started reading Atwood, and I started with Oryx and Crake, but I have Blind Assassin on my shelf. Those book covers you chose as your favorites are awesome and I DO think the least favorite covers are a little weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Blind Assassin is a book I wish I had read more carefully. It’s the other only Margaret Atwood I’ve read and it was really good, but I think I missed so much. She is not an author that explains, she puts it out there for you to experience and understand on your own, you know? I wasn’t paying enough attention.

      Like

      1. Yea Oryx and Crake is like that. I am not sure I liked the main character, I think someone told me this is her ONLY series in a male voice. She creates a crazy world though and it is terrified when you think about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You should. It’s a really cool trilogy. I haven’t gotten to the last two parts yet but there is a stark contrast in the past and present that she represents. It’s tragic and scary and completely bananas!

        Like

Let's talk!

