Top Ten Tuesday: Most anticipated releases for the rest of 2016

Another week, another Top Ten Tuesday, a meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This time I’m listing my most anticipated releases for the rest of 2016. I’m not one to usually pay attention to upcoming releases because I usually find books that have already been published, but there’s always the exception with series or authors I love. Since joining the online book community though, I’ve been a lot more attentive to what books are coming and I’ve gathered a few of them here that I’m really excited about. Here they are in no particular order:

1. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

29056083
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? July 31st

What is it about? Harry and his son Albus struggle with the Potter legacy and together they fight the darkness that brings together their past and present.

Why do I want to read it? …Well, come on. It’s Harry Potter. Do you think there’s going to be new material published and I’m not going to read it? I’m really curious to see how the characters will come to life in the form of a play and where they are in their lives as adults.

2. False Hearts by Laura Lam 

22816079
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? June 16th

What is it about? Orphan Black meets InceptionTwo formerly conjoined twins raised in a cult become involved in a plot with psychoactive drugs, shared dreaming, organized crime, and a sinister cult.

Why do I want to read it? First of all, I love Laura Lam’s imagination. Second, everything about it sounds incredible. Twins, cults, drugs, science fiction… It seems to have it all to be the perfect action packed tale of two sisters.

 

3. Firefly Summer by Nan Rossiter

28130261
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? July 26th

What is it about? Four sisters reunite at their childhood vacation spot on Cape Cod, where they uncover the truth about a past tragedy to find their future as a family.

Why do I want to read it? This is actually the first ARC I requested and that I was approved for. The story called to me because I’ve been wanting to read stories about family and this one seemed perfect. It looks like it could be a sad but at the same time uplifting story perfect for this summer.

4. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

25812109
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? September 20th

What is it about? Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it. When her older sister, Anna, was murdered three years ago and the killer walked free, Alex uncaged the language she knows best. The language of violence.

Why do I want to read it? I love the perspective it takes, I mean, the psychological insight that we could get from Alex sounds so intriguing! It reminds me of the TV show Dexter, though clearly a lot more toned down for being young adult.

5. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

27833670
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? August 2nd

What is it about? Jason Dressen is abducted and wakes up in a world where his life is different – he is now a celebrated genius, his son was never born, and his wife is not his wife. He must figure out if this life is a dream or if his other life was even real.

Why do I want to read it? That sounds so mysterious! I really want to now if this deals with parallel worlds or dreams, or if it is an entirely different concept.

 

 

6. The Museum of You by Carys Bray

26889460
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? June 16th

What is it about? Honestly, the description is sort of vague but I gathered it deals with the relationship between Darren and his daughter Chloe after her mother dies and she is trying to learn more about her.

Why do I want to read it? Again, the family theme is really calling to me lately,  I don’t know why! But I’ll also admit that I fell in love with the cover and the title. It didn’t hurt that Jen, one of my favorite BookTubers, recommended it.

 

 

7. The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

28389305
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? October 18th

What is it about? The fictionalized story of Einstein’s wife – Mileva “Mitza” Marić – as she meets him whilst studying physics herself and starts to be overshadowed by his work.

Why do I want to read it? I had no idea that she was a physicist and that she could have contributed to the theory of relativity. I find it fascinating to be able to read from her perspective and see how her intelligence was downplayed or how her contributions were ignored for being a woman.  

 

 

8. Nina is not OK by Shappi Khorsandi

27245625
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? July 28th

What is it about? Nina is a 17-year-old that seems to have a close relationship with alcohol. She is known for waking up with no memory of the night before, but her friends always fill in the blanks. Except one day her friends can’t help her and she feels like something really bad and shameful happened to her.

Why do I want to read it? I think we can guess where this book is going. I read a fantastic review saying the topic of rape culture and victim blaming is addressed in a great way. I’m looking forward for a good representation because it’s more relevant than ever.

9. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake 

23207027
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? September 20th

What is it about? Every generation, a set of triplets is born with a different power each. They are destined to fight each other to death for the crown when they turn 16. The only problem this time around is that two of the three sisters have been lying about having powers.

Why do I want to read it? A running theme in this post is not just family, but more specifically sisters. I have two, so maybe that’s why this type of stories are begging me to read them. The plot sounds really creative and it looks like the perfect mix of family, fantasy, action, and mystery.

 

10. A Kind of Justice by Renee James

30137585
| Add to Goodreads |

When is it released? October 4th

What is it about? A transgender woman has become one of the most famous hair stylists in Chicago, but then her life welcomes chaos. Her business fails, her ex-wife faces a tragedy, and a hateful police detective is determined to convict her of the ritual murder of a sexual predator.

Why do I want to read it? This is a crime novel with a transwoman as our main character written by a transgender author – representation like this is so important. But that’s not the only reason I want to pick this up, it sounds like a thrilling mystery with many twists and turns!

What are some of your anticipated releases for the rest of this year? Do any of these caught your eye?

 

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most anticipated releases for the rest of 2016

  1. I’m mostly scared of reading Harry Potter and the cursed child. I loved Harry Potter but I never read a play before and I don’t know how it’s going to work out… I’ll probably let you read it first and tell me how it is. Deal? (:
    I’m also very much anticipating Three Dark Crowns. I enjoyed Anna Dressed In blood by Kendare Blake, and the plot of Three Dark Crowns sounds very interesting… looking forward to picking it up.
    Not to mention, have you seen those ridiculously beautiful covers? https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ck6n3iiWsAQ_OQd.jpg

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh, yes! False Hearts is probably the one I want to read the most right now, it has the potential to be amazing! The Female of the Species sounds so amazing, but I’m a little scared how it would go. I want it to be as dark as possible but I know that young adult fiction has to be within certain limits, I hope it works though.

        Like

      2. The fact that it’s been marketed as Orphan Black meets Inception has me soo intrigued!! I hope The Fenale of the Species is executed well!! I haven’t read any of the authors other books, but I’ve heard good things about her so fingers crossed.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not that nervous because there are many people involved and a project this big will surely be successful. If not, I’ve decided to simply ignore that it ever happened haha

      Like

  2. There’s so many great book in this list! Before your list, I was already anticipating The Curse Child, The Museum of You and Three Dark Crowns. After reading your list, I’m adding The Female of the Species and A Kind of Justice (I love that it has a transgender main character!). Thanks for helping me found this books, they sound amazing!

    Sofia @ Bookish Wanderess

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I REALLY wanna read Three Dark Crowns!! I’ve seen HP on almost everyone’s list except for mine, lol. But I guess that’s because I haven’t gotten onto the HP train yet xD This is my second time seeing the Female of the Species on someone’s list, so I’m definitely gonna check it out after this. Great list, Esther! 🙂

    Here’s my TTT if you are interested: https://jbelkbooks.wordpress.com/2016/06/14/top-ten-tuesday-25/

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post Esther! There are some books on your list that I hadn’t heard of but now I’m totally excited for them too! Just so you know, I nominated you for the Liebster Award: https://inareadingworld.wordpress.com/2016/06/16/the-liebster-award/ I really love your blog and the content you post and you really deserve this award! 🙂 You’re so dedicated and your blog is so pretty! Haha! Sorry if you’ve already been nominated but I wanted to nominate you so badly! You were the first person I thought of!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my, thank you SO SO much for such a nice comment, you really made my day ❤ I have scheduled to check out the awards this weekend so I hope I can publish then 🙂
      I'm glad you found some interesting books in the post!

      Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

