Book Traveling Thursdays: A book I wished I had read in my childhood

Every week, Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) and Cátia (from TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch) host a feature called Book Traveling Thursdays on Goodreads. They give you a topic each Thursday and you choose a book that you think fits. Then comes the fun part: a cover showdown! You post the original cover, the cover from your country (which I won’t be doing most of the times because the books aren’t published here), and then your favorite and least favorite cover from any edition around the world. 

As June 1st was the International Children’s Day, this week’s topic is a book I would read in my childhood if I could go back in time. I went with The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan because I finally read the series this year and I kept thinking how much I would have liked it as a kid. Reading it at 23 was still fun, but I know that as a kid I would have enjoyed it a lot more. So let’s check the covers out:

separadorOriginal Cover

separador2

28187

The original cover from the US is quite good. I love the muted colors because it draws the attention to the lightning and because they are clearly pointing towards the color of the sea. It also gives you many clues of the plot that readers will appreciate after reading the book, like the orange Camp Half-Blood t-shirt and the Minotaur horn.

separadorFavorite Cover

separador2

21473404

My favorite cover is actually just another US edition. It has pretty much the same elements although more dramatically exposed and with a bit more color. It throws subtlety out the window, but I don’t mind. My favorite thing about it though is the typeface for Percy Jackson, which I think is beautiful and gives the series a recognizable image.

separadorLeast Favorite Covers

separador2

81nvfprc3zl     15844083

On the left we have a German edition and on the right a Swedish one. The Swedish edition is just terrible Photoshop and a generic looking lightning picture, but guys, the German one is so much more. I almost put the German one as my favorite because it made me laugh so much. I don’t even know what to say. I’ll give it some credit though – it does feature things that reflect the story: the Empire State Building and Percy’s fight with the Minotaur. It’s so ridiculous I sort of want it now.

Did the German make you laugh too? What book would you have liked to read in your childhood?

21 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A book I wished I had read in my childhood

  1. I would have loved to read Percy Jackson as a kid too! I read it when I was 22 and whilst I loved the books to pieces it would have been cool being able to grow up with them! Although I was 15 when the first book was released so I think I missed that boat 😅 Also I can’t stop laughing at that German edition lmao

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Percy Jackson is a great pick for this, but to be honest I wish I read more of the children’s classics when I was younger! I was never interested in them and now I have so many to catch up on XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, same thing is happening to me. I finally read Alice in Wonderland this year though, so I’m trying to catch up a little at a time 😛

      Like

Let's talk!

