A book for each of my favorite genres

Today I’ve compiled a little list where I chose one book per genre I love to recommend to you in just a few words. The genres I’ll be talking about are classic, fantasy, young adult, historical fiction, mystery/thriller, and short stories. I think each of the books represents its genre pretty well and I’ve enjoyed them all very much, so I hope that you can pick any of these up and give them a chance. Go ahead and check them out:

separadorClassic

separador2

20295431
| Add to Goodreads |

Oscar Wilde’s works are classics for a reason. This play is short and easy to read, with fake identities, hilarious misunderstandings, and funny and witty characters that bring it to life right on the page.

separadorFantasy

separador2

7507944
| Add to Goodreads |

Sunny, an albino girl, doesn’t seem to fit in anywhere until she discovers she’s magical. It’s reminiscent of Harry Potter, but it has its own complex and fantastical world. Set in Nigeria, this book is rich in magic and West African myth.

separadorYoung Adult

separador2

pantomimecovertor
| Add to Goodreads |

The first book in a trilogy, Pantomime creates an intriguing world filled with fantasy and mystery that I fell in love with. Our main protagonist is Gene, who is intersex, and whilst trying to understand who they are, flees and joins a circus.

separadorHistorical Fiction

separador2

18749
| Add to Goodreads |

This novel is set before and during the Biafran war and has a variety of compelling characters that live through their country’s hard times as well as their own personal ones. It’s definitely a heartbreaking classic of historical fiction.

separadorMystery/Thriller

separador2

5886881
| Add to Goodreads |

As always, Gillian Flynn created gripping and eerie characters that stand out from the page. The chapters alternate between the events before and after the murder of Libby’s family, for which her brother Ben was sent to jail for.

separadorShort Stories

separador2

16158505
| Add to Goodreads |

A beautiful and unforgettable collection of stories that are divided in four parts: love, conception, gestation, and birth. The main themes are life, death, and love, which are explored with magical realism.

What are your favorite reads from these genres? Have you read any of these books?

23 thoughts on “A book for each of my favorite genres

  1. Interesting list, I haven´t read any of the books! For me for the classic one would be “The monk” by Matthew Gregory Lewis, and for the thriller one “And then there were none” by Agatha Christie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Importance of being Earnest is a great play! Have you read The Picture of Dorian Gray? I haven’t read the other books, but I do want to read Half of a Yellow Sun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have read The Picture of Dorian Gray, but I would love to reread it because I think that I didn’t appreciate well enough back in college. Also, De Profundis, his non-fiction work (the letter from prison to his ex-lover) has some beautiful passages, but I’ve never finished it. Half of a Yellow Sun is really good so I hope you give it a go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The only book from this list that I have heard of is “The Importance of Being Ernest.” I haven’t heard of any of the others, I enjoy reading lists like this though. It’s always interesting to see what others enjoy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s sort of what I wanted, give a little shout out to more unknown books or ones that I don’t see around blogs much. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

  4. I haven’t read any of these 🙈 and I’ve only heard of Dark Places and The Importance of Being Earnest. I wasn’t a fan of Gone Girl, but I definitely want to check out Dark Places – it seems really interesting. OOh wait. I just checked Goodreads and it turns out Pantomime is on my TBR, haha!! So it’s good to hear you love that one.

    This is also such a fun post idea! Would it be cool if I maybe did a post like this in the future? I’d definitely link back to your post and say what inspired me to do it ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never read any of these books! :O AHHH my TBR list just keeps getting longer and longer! Anyway, this is an interesting list, Esther. Can I do something like this on my blog? I’d link back to you, of course 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. “A Guide to Being Born” looks amazing. We need more stories about the huge life-changing quality of pregnancy and birth. It’s ripe for magical realism – the womb is an underground world of imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I agree that magical realism goes pretty well with the topic! But I have to say that these stories take a bit of a dark note. I forget to mention that whenever I talk about this book.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

