Book Traveling Thursdays: A book I would want to see as a movie or TV show

Every week, Danielle (from Danielle’s Book Blog) and Cátia (from TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch) host a feature called Book Traveling Thursdays on Goodreads. They give you a topic each Thursday and you choose a book that you think fits. Then comes the fun part: a cover showdown! You post the original cover, the cover from your country (which I won’t be doing most of the times because the books aren’t published here), and then your favorite and least favorite cover from any edition around the world. 

This week the topic is a book that I would like to see as a movie or a TV show. I chose The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. I loved the writing of this book because it depicted everything magical, mysterious, and beautiful, but the last quarter of the story ended up dissappointing me. I would love to see it as a film because I think it would fix what I didn’t like and it would be stunning to see. So here we go, let’s look at some covers:

separadorOriginal Cover

separador2

9788408043645-es

The original cover, from Spain, is very simple and not quite intriguing. It’s not terrible and it does reflect a little the mysterious atmosphere of Barcelona depicted in the novel, but it’s definitely not my favorite. There’s something missing in it, but I can’t quite put my finger on what exactly.

separadorFavorite Covers

separador2

1232     22446373

On the left we have the beautiful UK cover. It’s a giant book that reflects the city! How clever is that? I’m so impressed by it. I especially like how the muted colors play with the contrast without being flashy. Then, on the right, we have the cover from Vietnam. I think the illustration is stunning and I’m also in love with the fonts used. Though the color scheme is very limited, being made up mostly of brown and yellow, it still stands out creating a cool contrast.

separadorLeast Favorite Covers

separador2

17934883    27859913   9466199

This was so hard. There were so many horrible covers out there, you can’t even imagine. I’ve picked the ones that I think are the least faithful to the book’s atmosphere and overall themes. The first on the right is from Russia, which makes it seem like a graphic novel. I don’t really like neither the illustration nor the font and its shadow. The second one, in the center, is from Hungary. What I don’t like from this one is not the illustration, but the rainbow gradient on top of it, it doesn’t really fit the book and I think that’s what ruins the overall image of the cover. Finally, we have the one from the Czech Republic. A lot of countries decided to use a street lamp in the cover, as the original, but most of them failed. I picked this one especially because of how much life it lacks. The muted colors don’t work well here and it feels ordinary instead of mysterious, a fail for me.

Do you agree? Which one is your favorite?

15 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: A book I would want to see as a movie or TV show

    1. I read it a long time ago because someone recommended it to me and I went into it without knowing anything about it. The hype seems to turn people away from books in fear of disappointment so I understand, but this is really an intriguing and intricate story. What I disliked from this book is something that doesn’t seem to bother anyone else that I know of, so the chances that you’ll like it are good 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is actually on one of my challenge lists this year! And yeah, I do love the UK cover the best, it’s something I’d definitely pick up and look at when I’m browsing a book store.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this book more than I thought I would! My teacher made me read it last year for a book club I was in at school and it was a book I hadn’t heard before. I think that’s why I liked it so much, because I read it with very low expectations! My favorite is the Uk cover ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Let's talk!

